The South Dakotan
State University. He is a
former staff member of
the University of South
Dakota Foundation.
Carl Koch
’71 B.A., ’76
J.D., Mitchell, S.D., was
reappointed as the city
attorney of Mitchell.
Chad Lavin
’78 B.S.B.A.,
’83 M.A., Fort Collins,
Colo., was appointed
as an assistant coach to
Colorado State University’s
women’s basketball team,
serving under head coach
Ryun Williams.
Michael Mahon
’76 B.A.,
West Des Moines, Iowa,
received the Lifetime
Achievement Award at
the annual College of
Sports Information
Directors of America
(CoSIDA) Convention
in St. Louis, Mo.
Jean (Peterson) Nicholson
’72 B.S.Ed., Sioux Falls,
S.D., was named chair
of the South Dakota
Humanities Council.
Thomas Nicholson
B.S.Ed., ’78 J.D., Sioux
Falls, S.D., was installed as
president of the State Bar
of South Dakota at the
group’s state convention.
He is a partner with
Nicholson, Tschetter,
Adams, and Nicholson in
Sioux Falls.
Janet (Sibley) Olivera
B.S.B.A., Los Alamos,
Calif., was elected
president of the board of
directors of the Santa Ynez
Valley Senior Advisory
Council, which operates
the Solvang Senior Center.
Karen Paschal
’72 B.A.,
Omaha, Neb., was
named as a Catherine
Worthingham Fellow of
the American Physical
Therapy Association. She
is an associate professor at
Creighton University.
Brian Redshaw
M.P.Ad., Sioux City,
Iowa, was hired as city
administrator for
Sergeant Bluff, Iowa.
Frank Thomas
’75 B.S.,
Aledo, Texas, received the
Distinguished Lifetime
Achievement Award from
the Louisiana Association
for Marriage and Family
Therapy in 2010. He
is an associate professor
of education at Texas
Christian University.
Tim Tucker
’78 B.S., 1982
J.D., Madison, S.D., was
named presiding judge for
the Third Judicial Circuit
by South Dakota Supreme
Court Chief Justice
David Gilbertson.
Susan (Carlson) Weinberg
’73 B.A., Robbinsdale,
Minn., was elected
president of CoreNet
Global, Midwest Chapter
for 2012–2013. She is
the director of real
estate for the University
of Minnesota.
Karlton Adam
’87 B.A.,
’89 M.P.Ad., Pierre, S.D.,
was named chairman elect
for the South Dakota
Bankers Association’s
2012–2013 board
of directors.
Thomas Braithwaite
M.D., Sioux Falls, S.D.,
was named governor of
the South Dakota Chapter
of the American College
of Physicians, the national
organization of internists.
Stephanie Burns
B.S.Ed., Huron, S.D.,
established Chic CEO,
an enterprise aimed
at assisting women
entrepreneurs, with her
business partner,
Jody Coughlin.
Michael Calvert
M.A., Wichita, Kan.,
was named the new
president of Central
Community College in
Grand Island, Neb.
Lisa (LaFollette) Miller
’82 B.A., Manakin
Sabot, Va., was named
governor of the Virginia
Chapter of the American
College of Physicians,
the national organization
of internists.
Bryan Farris
’88 M.A.
Salix, Iowa, was named
head coach of the
Morningside College
swimming and
diving team.
Kelly Flynn
’80 B.S.Ed.,
South Sioux City, Neb.,
was named Coach of
the Year by the National
High School Athletic
Coaches Association. He is
formerly the head coach of
the South Sioux City Lady
Cardinal basketball team.
Karen (Studer) Fox
B.S.Ed., Bancroft, S.D.,
was named principal of
Laurel High School in
Laurel, Mont.
Thomas Gellhaus
B.S.M.D., Bettendorf,
Iowa, was named assistant
secretary of the American
Congress of Obstetricians
and Gynecologists. He is a
clinical associate professor
of OB/GYN and director
of general OB/GYN at
the University of Iowa
Hospitals and Clinics in
Iowa City, Iowa.
Richard Hawley
’80 B.A.,
Ames, Iowa, took over as
owner of the
Mount Ayr
a newspaper
in Mount Ayr, Iowa.
Timothy Hood
B.S.Ed., Creston, Iowa,
was named superintendent
of the Keokuk, Iowa
School District.
Julie (Falkerts) Hulstein
’84 M.M., Sioux Center,
Iowa, was elected as
a new member of the
Northwestern College
Board of Trustees.
Troy Hutchings
B.S.Ed., Flagstaff, Ariz.,
was appointed as research
chair for education in the
University of Phoenix’s
College of Education
and School of
Advanced Studies.
David Judson
’80 B.S.,
’82 M.A., Hoffman
Estates, Ill., joined
bioRASI, a global contract
research organization as
vice president and CCO.
Josephine (Simmons)
’82 B.A., ’90
Ed.D., South Charleston,
W. Va., was hired as dean
of the School of Health
Sciences at the University
of Charleston.
Ronda Kuipers
B.S.Ed., Forest City,
Iowa, was hired as a
project coordinator with
Henkel Construction in
Mason City, Iowa.
Michael Lambrecht
B.S., Meridian, Idaho,
was appointed as director
of human resources at
Eastern Oregon University
in La Grande, Ore.
David O’Hara
B.S.B.A., ’87 M.B.A.,
Dell Rapids, S.D., was
appointed to the board
of directors of Intelligent
InSites, Inc. a real-time
location systems business
in Fargo, N.D.
Dawnette (Sullivan)
’81 B.A., ’05 M.S.,
Patrick Schroeder
’76 B.S., ’81 J.D., Sioux Falls,
S.D., represented the North American team
in the third annual Fightmaster Cup, a Ryder
Cup-style golf match for golfers with one arm.
Schroeder was the “Captain’s Choice” player
for the team this year, added to the team
based on its leader’s recommendation.
The event took place Sept. 21–23 at the
Hilton Indian Lakes Resort in Chicago, and
while the American team did not win,
Schroeder had a match victory to accompany
one loss and one draw.
1...,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33 35,36,37,38,39,40,41,42,43,...44