The South Dakotan
Tom and Nancy Gallagher of Arlington, Va., provide that
leadership. Tom, a Wall Street and government researcher, analyst
and strategist, and his wife, Nancy, are dedicated alumni of the
university and have served the Foundation as trustees and board
members over the years. They lead a team of individuals and couples
committed to promoting the campaign and the success of USD.
Charged with overseeing campaign plan implementation and
monitoring its progress, the committee’s primary responsibilities during
this preliminary leadership phase of Onward South Dakota involve
cultivating interest in the campaign and identifying and educating
USD friends and alumni about available legacy-giving opportunities.
“We are so fortunate to have enthusiastic leaders in Tom and
Nancy,” said Steve Brown, USD Foundation president. “They are two
very incredible people who feel a strong connection to the university
and to South Dakota although their careers have taken them elsewhere.
They’ve indicated that their experiences at the university profoundly
shaped their lives, and they now feel a strong obligation to give back.”
A prominent strength of this team is the diversity of its members;
they hail from across the country and represent a variety of different
careers and lifestyles. The Gallaghers are joined by honorary chairs and
well-known alumni including Al Neuharth of Cocoa Beach, Fla. and
Tom and Meredith Brokaw of New York City. In addition, Lorraine
Hart of Minneapolis, Minn., Scott and Marlys Lawrence of Sioux Falls,
S.D., Dan and Mary Jo Kelly from Rochester, Minn., and Marlon
Young from New York City will serve the committee and represent the
Foundation Trustees. Jeff Nelson of Sioux Falls, S.D., is the athletics
representative. Tom and Cindy Lillibridge of Bonesteel, S.D., are
members of the board of directors of the National Music Museum.
Jen Porter from Sioux Falls, S.D., is the USD Alumni Association
board president. The committee is completed by Doyle Knudson of
Paradise Valley, Ariz., the chair of the Foundation’s board of directors,
Steve Brown, Foundation president and CEO, and James W. Abbott,
University of South Dakota president.
A Commitment
to Leadership
Solidifies Committee
A successful campaign
needs capable and
unwavering leadership,
and the USD Foundation
is fortunate to have
found visionaries willing
to volunteer for the
steering committee of
Onward South Dakota.
1...,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25 27,28,29,30,31,32,33,34,35,36,...44