Previous Page  7 / 32 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 7 / 32 Next Page
Page Background

Spring/Summer 2015







resented to





& S




Three members of the USD College of Arts & Sciences faculty received

the 2015 Richard and Sharon Cutler Faculty Awards in Liberal Arts,

presented annually to faculty who advance liberal arts education

through teaching and research over a three-year span. Each receives a

$4,000 cash prize.

Scott Pohlson

has been named vice

president of Enrollment, Marketing

and University Relations. For the past

two years, Pohlson was an executive

consultant with Noel-Levitz, Inc.

where he conducted custom financial

aid consulting for more than a dozen

clients. Prior to that, he was dean of

enrollment at USD from 2010–2012,

managing student recruitment while assisting USD’s efforts

with the continued development of an effective financial aid

and scholarship leveraging system. Pohlson’s M.B.A. is from

Creighton University and his B.A. in business economics is

from Coe College.

The new dean of the Beacom School of

Business is

Venky Venkatachalam,

Ph.D. He formerly served as associate

dean and professor at the Peter T. Paul

College of Business and Economics at

the University of New Hampshire, in

addition to directing the Enterprise

Integration Research Center at that

university. He earned his bachelor’s

degree in mechanical engineering from the University of

Madras, India; his M.B.A. from the Indian Institute of

Management Calcutta; and Ph.D. from the University

of Alabama.

Jacob Kerby, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Mathematics/Natural Sciences Division

A member of the USD faculty since

2008, Kerby teaches Introductory

Biology, Ecology, Ecotoxicology and

Disease Ecology as well as Foundations of

Ecology and Proposal Writing graduate

seminars. Kerby’s research focuses on the

conservation of amphibian species and

he is the lead coordinator of the Great

Plains Chapter of FrogWatch USA, which

trains citizens to recognize frog calls in

order to identify species in a region. Kerby

earned his Ph.D. from the University

of California at Davis, his M.S. from

California State University, Northridge

and his B.S. from Pepperdine University.

Darlene Farabee, Ph.D.

Chair and Associate Professor of English

Humanities Division

This is the second Cutler Award for

Farabee, who has taught courses on

British literature, Shakespeare and

drama at USD since 2008. Her

research interests include early modern

drama, early modern narratives of

travel, and theories of movement and

perception. She is also the project

director for the USD campus March

2016 exhibit of Shakespeare’s First

Folio, the first complete collected

edition of Shakespeare’s plays. Farabee

earned her Ph.D. and M.A. from the

University of Delaware and her B.A.

from Temple University.

Timothy Schorn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Political Science

Social Sciences Division

Schorn joined the USD faculty 20

years ago and directs the International

Studies Program. He regularly teaches

Governments of the World, World

Politics, Genocide in the Modern Era,

Middle Eastern Politics and International

Law. Schorn has also led 14 study trips

with students to locations including

Cuba, Israel and Turkey. Schorn received

his Ph.D. and M.A. from the University

of Notre Dame, his J.D. from Notre

Dame Law School and his B.A. from

Mount Marty College.

Jacob Kerby, Darlene Farabee and Timothy Schorn