Previous Page  25 / 32 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 25 / 32 Next Page
Page Background

Spring/Summer 2015


August Rysavy

’57 B.S.B.A.,

Brandon, S.D., grew the 37' blue

spruce for the 2014 Christmas at

the Capitol in Pierre, S.D.

James Tays

’54 B.S. Ed.,

Hot Springs, S.D., was inducted

into the South Dakota High School

Basketball Hall of Fame.

James Dyer

’64 B.S.B.A., Scottsdale,

Ariz.,was inducted into the South

Dakota High School Basketball Hall

of Fame.

Kenneth Pickering

’63 B.S. Ed.,

’69 M.A., Pierre, S.D., received the

2014 National Federation of State

High School Associations National

Citation for Speech Award.

Milo Winter

’63 M.M., Rapid City,

S.D., was honored with the 2015

Arts & Living Indian Treasure Award.

Gregory Yates

’69 B.A., ’72 J.D.,

Encino, Calif., helped South Dakota

tribes recover more than $100

million in mismanaged funds.

Leanne (Johnson) Austin

’75 B.S.

Ed., Centerville, S.D., received the

Teacher of the Year Award from the

South Dakota VFW.

Gene Burrish

’74 B.S., ’78 B.S.M.D.,

Sioux Falls, S.D., received the 2014

Excellence in Teaching Award from

the Center for Family Medicine.

Richard Casey

’74 B.A., ’77 J.D.,

Sioux Falls, S.D., is the senior trial

attorney for the state’s attorney to

handle child abuse and

neglect cases.

William Peterson

’73 B.A.,

Sioux Falls, S.D., was named to the

Sioux Falls Boomer List.

David Schwartz

’78 J.D., Verona,

Wis., was named a member of the

Top 100 Trial Lawyers in Wisconsin.

Jeanne (Forrette) Sinclair


B.S. Ed., Milbank, S.D., retired

after a 37-year career coaching

Bulldog gymnasts.

Jerome Bentz

’80 M.A., Platte,

S.D., was named 2015 Family Doctor

of the Year by the South Dakota

Academy of Family Physicians.

James Daane

’82 B.S.B.A., ’85

J.D., Sioux City, Iowa, was elected

president of the Iowa Association

for Justice.

John Egge

’80 B.S., ’85 M.A.,

Minnetonka, Minn., accepted a

position as technical sales specialist

for Kolberg-Pioneer in Yankton, S.D.

Darren Ennis

’86 B.S.B.A.,

Minneapolis, Minn., received the

2014 Minneapolis Downtown

Network Award.

Barbara (Vavruska) Fish


B.S.B.A., Brandon, S.D., is a certified

financial planner for Securities

America, Inc.

Hartley Hertel



., Palmer,

Alaska, is the new general manager

for the Alaska State Fair.

Coralee Jorgensen




Sioux Falls, S.D., a former USD

state and regional medalist, was

inducted into The South Dakota Golf

Association Hall of Fame.

Richard Kinzley

’88 B.S.B.A.,

Rapid City, S.D., has been

promoted to senior vice president

and chief financial officer for

Black Hills Corporation.

Robert Morris

’88 J.D., Belle

Fourche, S.D., was honored as

Belle Fourche High School Veteran

of the Year.

Timothy Ridgway

’84 M.D.,

Brandon, S.D., has been named

the Sanford School of Medicine‘s

inaugural Dr. Charley F. and

Elizabeth Gutch Chair.

Randolph Seiler

’80 J.D., Fort

Pierre, S.D., assumed the duties of

Acting United States Attorney for

the District of South Dakota.

Richard Werner

’80 B.S.B.A.,

Huron, S.D., received the 2015

Distinguished Civic Service Award

by the Huron Chamber and

Development Corp.

Francis Zavadil

’84 B.S.A.H.,

’93 M.A., Yankton, S.D., has been

named to the South Dakota

State Epidemiological

Outcomes Workgroup.

Joseph Blaseg

’91 B.S.B.A., Billings,

Mont., has joined the Federal

Deposit Insurance Corporation as a

financial institution specialist.

Steven Brazones

’97 B.S.B.A.,

Minneapolis, Minn., was hired as the

CFO of Raven Industries, Inc.

Thomas Culver

’99 M.A., Avon,

S.D., will be inducted into the

South Dakota Football Coaches

Association Hall of Fame.

Denise (Thole) DuVernay


B.A., Chicago, Ill., accepted a

position as assistant director,

office of corporate, government

and foundation relations at

Saint Xavier University.

Dean Evans

’90 B.S.B.A., San

Francisco, Calif., accepted the

position as CEO of Lotlinx.

Li Hu

’93 M.F.A., Oshkosh, Wis., held

an exhibition titled “Painting by Li

Hu: 25 Year Retrospective” featuring

more than 50 pieces of his art.

Kristy (Amundson) Jackson


B.S. Ed., ’96 M.A., Sioux Falls, S.D.,

was accepted into the National

Career Development Association‘s

Leadership Academy.

Marlene (Lang) Jacobson

’97 Ed.D., North Sioux City, S.D.,

has accepted the position of

project manager of the global

communications team for

Documents & Design.

Gary Klein

’93 B.S. Ed., La Crosse,

Wis., has been named vice president

for institutional advancement of

Edgewood College.

Joseph Lefdal

’97 B.S. Ed.,

‘01 M.A., ‘09 Ed.S., Yankton,

S.D., accepted the position of

superintendent of Chase County

School in Imperial, Neb.

Lydia (Braun) McDonald


M.A., Greenbrier, Ark., was hired as

president and CEO of the Arkansas

Colleges of Health Education.

David Whitesock

’09 B.S., ’12 J.D., ’12 M.A., Vermillion, S.D.,

was the recipient of a 2015 Bush Fellowship Award.

Bush Fellowships provide an opportunity to advance

South Dakota’s talent, boosting them to greater leadership.

Whitesock has committed himself to using “big data”

to promote a holistic approach to treating addiction.