Previous Page  21 / 32 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 21 / 32 Next Page
Page Background

Spring/Summer 2015


The University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine

(SSOM) is moving onward in providing high quality, accessible

medical education to benefit South Dakota and the region.

Onward: The Campaign

for South Dakota, the USD

Foundation’s $250 million

fundraising effort, is creating

opportunity through scholarships,

faculty support and new and

renovated facilities. “The campaign

is quite simply an expression

of unapologetic pride in the

university,” said Steve Brown,

foundation CEO and president. “Donors to the medical school

are helping to lead the way.”

A recently completed Sanford School of Medicine challenge

grant to enhance student scholarship offerings and expand

resources for faculty development doubled the $1.5 million

raised to $3 million. With all contributions of $25,000 and

more matched dollar for dollar,

23 new scholarships and three new

faculty endowments were created.

Mary Nettleman, M.D., dean

of the Sanford School of Medicine,

expressed gratitude. “Scholarship

support helps with the cost of

medical school while sending a

message to our students that our

alumni and friends care about their

future success.”

Significant gifts from three distinguished late faculty

members will assist the school to attract and retain talented

leaders to carry on their legacy.

The first endowed chair in the Sanford School of

Medicine’s history was established with a gift from Margaret

Wegner ’53, ’85 and the estate of Dr. Karl Wegner. He is

credited with securing the legislative support that in 1974

transformed South Dakota’s two-year medical school into a

degree-granting four-year institution. The first recipient is

reproductive endocrinologist Dr. Keith Hansen, chair of the

SSOM Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

A second faculty chair has been created as the result of a

generous gift by Elizabeth and Dr. Charley Gutch. He was

associate dean of the USD School of Medicine from 1983–88.

Dr. Tim Ridgway, dean of clinical faculty and associate

professor in the SSOM Department of Internal Medicine, is

the inaugural recipient of that award.

Dr. John C. Sall ’77 made a commitment through his

estate to establish the professorship in medicine that bears his

name. It, too, is the first in the school’s history. Dr. Jerome

Freeman ’84, professor and chair of the medical school’s

Department of Neurosciences, is the recipient.

“The campaign provided an opportunity for an

extraordinary partnership with our graduates and friends,”

Nettleman said. “Donors’ enduring commitment creates a

legacy within the school and allows continuation of our work

to create extraordinary physicians.”

Those wishing to learn more or participate in the

Sanford School of Medicine’s Onward campaign may contact

Edd Storey at 605-357-1301 or

Sanford School of Medicine

Moving South Dakota


Steve Brown

Mary Nettleman

The USD Foundation Sioux Falls office is moving!



JULY 23 | 5 – 7 P.M.

As of July 1, the office will be at 101 S. Phillips Ave. (former CNA building), Suite 508.