Previous Page  11 / 44 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 11 / 44 Next Page
Page Background

WINTER 2015/16 |



USD Law’s Native American Law Student Association

was presented with the Chapter of the Year award at the

40th annual Indian Law Conference in April, sponsored

by the Federal Bar Convention in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Additionally, second-year USD Law student, Tsyoslake

House, received the 2L of the Year award.

Abby Leach


of Albert Lea,

Minnesota, was appointed to vice

chair of the Law Student Reporters

for Law Student Action Group for the

Intellectual Property Section of the

ABA. Leach is in her third year at USD

Law. Under her appointment she

will serve two years as vice chair and

then as chair in her third year.

Professor Roger Baron received Delta

Theta Phi’s “Most Outstanding Professor

in the Nation” award. USD Law student

Abby Leach also received the “Most

Outstanding Law Student in the Nation”

award. The announcement was made

Aug. 1 in Washington, D.C. at the legal

fraternity’s 59th Biennial Convention.


National Awards

USD Professor and Student

Win Top Honors at National

Fraternity’s Annual Meeting

Professor David S. Day received the USD School of Law

2015 John Wesley Jackson Memorial Award for Outstanding

Professor of Law. The Student Bar Association presented

Professor Day with this prestigious award at Barristers’ Ball

in the spring of 2015. Every year one professor receives

this honor for his or her hard work and dedication to

excellence at USD Law. The Student Bar Association votes on

nominations received from the USD law school student body

and selects the recipient who will receive the John Wesley

Jackson Memorial Award. The honoree assists the dean in

hooding at the Hooding Ceremony for that year’s recipients

of a juris doctorate.

Professor Day Receives

Jackson Award

Dean Geu, left, and David Day, right, with a 2015 graduate.

Third-year students Tsyolake House and Kyle Chase